

# **Annual General Meeting 2018-19**

## Wednesday 13 November 2019

### Canberra Girls Grammar School, Deakin

#### **Draft Minutes**

The meeting started at 7:35pm

## **Opening**

The President, Neil Hermes, welcomed all present at the Annual General Meeting of the Canberra Ornithologists Group for 2018-19.

# **Apologies**

Apologies were received from Alison Russell-French and David McDonald.

## **Confirmation of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting**

Jenny Bounds moved that the minutes be accepted. Seconded: Bill Graham

## **President's Report**

A copy of the report is attached. In summary:

#### General

Neil Hermes outlined the challenges and opportunities the committee had dealt with during the year. He then highlighted the members' survey and quoted some of the comments provided. These were positive about a wide variety of COG's activities. The Committee will use the survey results to plan COG's future activities.

#### Committee

Neil stated that COG had been well served by an enthusiastic and dedicated committee and thanked them for their contributions. He particularly thanked David McDonald who has retired from the Committee but will continue to serve in various other ways. Lia Battisson has handed over the duties of Treasurer to Prue Watters.

The Committee has been supported by others who have continued to provide invaluable service to COG – Jack Holland, Sandra Henderson, Michael Lenz, Kevin Windle, Duncan McCaskill, Barbara Allen, Nicki Taws, Kathy Walter, John Goldie, Dianne Davey and Bruce Lindenmayer were all thanked for their contributions.

## **Databases and data management**

COG has a strong reputation for the collection and dissemination of reliable data on the birds of our region and this has continued this year. Neil noted that the challenge of keeping COG's databases compatible with modern technology has yet to be solved and that COG will need to engage professional expertise to do this.

## **COG Membership**

There are currently about 450 COG Members.

## Steve Wilson Award

The Steve Wilson Medal for 2019 was presented to Sue Lashko and Paul Fennell.

## Conservation

Jenny Bounds was thanked for her work as the Conservation Officer. Neil acknowledged the increasing work required in this area and noted that the Committee will consider how to share the load.

## Surveys

The COG members who participated in bird surveys, including the Blitz, Garden Bird Survey, Latham Snipe Survey, among others, were acknowledged.

### **Gang-gang Newsletter**

Hard-copy of the Gang-gang newsletter ceased from 1 July 2018. Gang-gang continued to be available on the COG website, as a colour pdf that can be downloaded and printed.

#### Website

Julian Robinson was thanked for his ongoing efforts in maintaining the website. The website was visited more than 155,000 in 2018-2019 with an average of 270 people accessing the site each day.

### **Records Management**

The Records Management Team and the Rarities Committee were acknowledged for their roles.

# **Outings**

Sue Lashko was thanked for organizing the field trips program, Martin Butterfield was thanked for organizing the Wednesday Walks, as were other members who led outings.

#### Canberra Bird Notes

Michael Lenz and Kevin Windle were thanked for producing CBN.

## **Monthly Meetings**

Jack Holland has continued to provide interesting speakers for the COG monthly meetings and Sandra Henderson has provided raffle prizes and sold tickets. Many comments in the Survey expressed appreciation for Jack's efforts.

### CanberraBirds email announcement and discussion list

The list managed by David McDonald, continues to provide a useful forum for people to discuss birds in the Canberra Region. People new to birding are encouraged to subscribe..

## Canberra Birds Conservation Fund (CBCF)

The work of the CBCF was summarised. The Fund does not make grants as often as it would like so people seeking support for suitable projects are encouraged to inquire about funding.

#### Conclusion

All the COG members who had contributed over the year to COG in many ways were thanked. The President noted that the Committee's work was only possible because of the efforts of the large and skilled support team and that the results of the survey will give COG renewed enthusiasm, direction and purpose.

## **Adoption of President's Report**

Prue Watters proposed and Anne Fulker seconded the acceptance of the President's Report.

### **Presentation of Annual Statements of Accounts**

Prue Watters presented the audited Financial reports.

Mark Clayton moved that the financial reports be accepted. Seconded: Jack Holland

# Appointment of Auditor for the next financial year

Neil Hermes moved that Rod Griffiths be appointed auditor for the 2019-2020 financial year. Seconded: Sue Lashko

## **Public Officer**

Jack Holland has agreed to act as Public Officer. Moved: Alistair Drake.

Seconded: Bill Graham

#### **Election of office bearers for 2019-2020**

Jack Holland acted as returning officer and the following were elected unopposed:

**President:** Neil Hermes

Vice-President: Steve Read

Treasurer: Prue Watters

Secretary: Bill Graham

**Ordinary committee members:** Jenny Bounds, Anthony Nicholls, Chris Davey, Alison Mackerras, Kathy Eyles and Brittany Brockett were welcomed as new or returning members of the committee.

# Other matters for which notice has been given

Prior to the AGM, members were advised that the following motion would be considered and voted upon:

'That the Association alter its Rules as per the revised Rules that have been made available to members'.

Members voted unanimously to accept the proposed changes to the Association Rules.

The meeting closed at 8:10pm.